The outcome of draws for the eagerly awaited second phase of the 2022 Prudent Energy Handball Premier League billed to commence this weekend in Lagos has been released by the Technical Committee of the championships.

According to the fixtures sighted by, Day One on October 23rd will have youthful Rima Queens of Sokoto taking on former winners, Adorable Angels of Ilorin in the opener; while reigning champions and 2022 log leaders, FRSC Safety Babes will take on lowly KADA Queens of Kaduna in the standout fixtures of the women’s competition.

The men’s category also has two mouthwatering Day-One fixtures, including the duel between phase one leaders, Kano Pillars and Kada Stars of Kaduna, and the Lagos derby between Tojemarine Academy and Seasiders; while the potentially title decider between reigning champions Kano Pillars and 2021 runners-up FRSC Safety Shooters of Abuja, is slated for November 2nd.

According to the HFN, matches involving the log leaders in the men and women categories, Kano Pillars and Safety Babes as well as two other top teams will be streamed afresh on all social media platforms of the HFN; including Facebook, HFN TV, twitter and Instagram.

There will also be a show on Saturday that will review the first phase of the championships in Abuja, and then preview the second phase in Lagos.

After 10 round of matches played in Phase One, Kano Pillars sit on top of the men’s log with 30 points, and are closely followed by Safety Shooters and Niger United, who are both on 28 points.

FRSC Safety Babes are the clear leaders in the women’s category, with 24 points, 3 points clear of 2nd placed Rima Queens, and NSCDC Defender Babes are 3rd, on 20 points.

Meanwhile, the Technical Committee of the HFN has ratified Individual Awards scooped by outstanding individual players, at the 2022 National Division One Handball Championships, which ended in Benin, Edo State, on Saturday.

Uyigue Enomwen of Bendel Dynamos was the clear winner of the Best Goalkeeper Award for Men’s Category, while Vera John of Bayelsa Queens won the corresponding award for women.

The Most Valuable Player Awards for women was scooped by Otodo Elizabeth of Bayelsa Queens, while Aminu Mohammed of Correction Boys of Abuja won the prize for men.

Aminu Mohammed whose 30 goals in Benin, helped the Correction Boys to regain promotion into the elite division, expectedly emerged the Highest Goal Scorer; while Vera John of Bayelsa Queens was named women’s Highest Goal Scorer with 28 goals.

The President’s fair play trophies for the Best Behaved Teams went to Idah Pillars who made their debut in the men’s division one debut in Benin; same as Mindscope Academy of Abeokuta, which played in the women’s league for the first time.

Bendel Dynamos of Benin, and Correction Boys of Abuja were the two men’s teams promoted to the Premier Handball League, while Bayelsa Queens of Yenago and Delta Force of Asaba got promoted to the women’s elite division.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Rapid FM 96.5
Hello 👋
Can we help you?
  • News