Super Eagles of Nigeria is expected to know their opponents in the qualifiers for the 2026 FIFA World Cup today.

The seeding technique will be deployed in the draw which is billed for Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire.

The 54 African entries will be divided into nine groups of six teams with all eventual group leaders securing places at the World Cup.

The best four runners-up will then go into play-offs and the winners join five other teams in an inter-confederation tournament with two World Cup places up for grabs

Current African champions, Terangha Lions of Senegal, Atlas Lions of Morocco, Pharaohs of Egypt, Carthage Eagles of Tunisia and Desert Foxes of Algeria are also seeded for the draw.

The other seeded teams are Les Aiglons of Mali, Indomitable Lions of Cameroon and Elephants of Cote d’Ivoire.

The Super Eagles will be hoping to avoid perennial rivals, Black Stars of Ghana, who are among the second-seeded teams.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Rapid FM 96.5
Hello 👋
Can we help you?
  • News